“Happy Mothers” Day- not!


Today is not “HAPPY Mothers”  day.

It’s Mother’s day.

A day to remember and honor mothers.

A day to bless mothers.

All mothers.

I say parenting is the hardest job in the world, bar none, and I honor everyone that accidentally (the vast majority) or on purpose, took on the job. We are all worthy of respect for even trying to work it out in this crazy world. There are many mothers out there that may not be so proud of their handiwork, feeling less than successful at what they attempted. The card isles are full of appreciation for the great mothers who rode out all the obstacles and won, but this mother’s day blessing is for the ones who tried and  feel like they failed; Sometimes miserably.

I honor and bless those mothers today.

I honor the ones who tried to get it all “right” and  their offspring seemingly got it all “wrong” in every conceivable way they couldn’t  ever  have imagined.

I honor the ones who doted on and provided for ungrateful kids that never appreciated it.

I honor the ones whose hearts broke as they watched their little ones fledge and never saw them again as they crashed upon the hardest circumstances that life offers.

I honor all the ones who watched over the suffering of their children without  the resources to stop it.

I honor those  who never had the tools from their own past and  never had a clue about how to raise  healthy children but did their best anyway.

I honor those that stayed the course…..and those who jumped ship.

I honor every  mother.

I bless you all, and I thank you.

You may have no idea how brave and courageous, wonderful and generous, and just downright amazing you are, but I do. And so I bless you, and  intend that someday very soon, all will see your greatness, including you.

I wish you a happy “MOTHER’s” day.

2 thoughts on ““Happy Mothers” Day- not!

    1. Thanks. The toxic “socialization” process that occurs in this world that begins to tear some of us down as soon as the umbilical cord is cut has a lot to do with the way that our world plays out in our societies. It’s so much easier to blame it on Moms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

